RSS

Dead Crazy! (Ringer)

03 Aug

Like those of you who stop by here, (I imagine) my intricate and endless fascination with history takes me down many a road, tangential often, but like National Geographic can’t quit Ancient Egypt and can be counted on to return to it, oNATL GEOS EGr like the always and forever “very big” arena of Space will find its way back on to the cover of Scientific American regularly I find I return SCI AMSto certain topics or periods with enough frequency that their centrality to my thinking must form veritable broad avenues unto highways in my thought patterns. And on occasion, from some familiar historical haunt of mine I’ll be afforded a view across, over, out, further to see some other thing I hadn’t before, as I again adjust my view of the world at large through the scrim of whatever of my the historical “comfort foods”/favorites it might be.

And in this case, the little connection I share here today I can’t believe it’s not already all over the web’s hang-out zones of the the two areas that cross-pollinate in today’s post.

IMG_0001 copy82804

On the one hand, a contender if ever there was one for the Greatest of the “Greatest Hits” of history–a favorite not only of mine, but of no less a personage that guy who had the patience to write the 6 volume “History of [its] Rise and Fall”, of the Nat’l Geo’s weighing down everyone’s basements, to say nothing of being the bread and butter of the History Channel, weighing in at approximately 15,620,000 pounds becuz NG2Sthat’s how much their yearly revenue would weigh, it’s: the Roman Empire!

BLR MLFTW

In the other corner, spied, as it was, as it were and as it shall be, by my little eye, and hailing from the mind of a master scavenger of History, culled from the Perfect Stormy Royale with Frommage du Plantagenet, pulled from the pages of Rose Colored Medievalania, the Histori-Tolkeinian Mashup Ye can always be Dragon out at cocktail parties, weighing in at a hefty 562 million pounds becuz that’s how much their viewers-per-episode weigh en masses is everyone’s favorite dragon dance of swords and dwarves: Game of Thrones!

 

5105208587_1633a582c1_z

GameOfThrones_Joffrey_02













I can’t be the first to point out the crazyresemblance between the smug little King Joffrey Baratheon of the HBO TV adaptation of (the fictional) Game of Thrones (as portrayed by young irish actor Jack Gleeson) and Caligula Caesar, the infamously off-kilter and cruel (and 100% real) 3rd Emperor of the Roman Empire for four years (37-41). I mean: look at that!Game-of-Thrones8

Cuirass bust of Caligula. Marble. 37—41 A.D. Inv. No. 1453. Copenhagen, New Carlsberg Glyptotek.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 3, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
